Some people think that the best way to resolve environmental problems is to increase fuel and vehicles’ prices. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some argue that increasing the cost of fuel and cars is the most effective resolution for enviornmental problems. This essay agrees with the statement because it discourages its use and lowers pollution. Bringing the petrol and diesel prices up as well as cars will lead to a significant decline in its usage. As the ownership cost increases, people would either sell their car or turn to some alternate form of power like batteries or even buy an electric vehicle. As a result, the demand for them would gradually decrease, shifting the pressure to their manufacturers. If they do not have any incentive to sell, they will not even consider producing. Consequently, the carbon footprint in the value chain would also go down. For example, Maharashtra, a state in India, had allowed the external fitting of gas cylinders as an alternative to carbon fuels and increased the taxes on petrol and diesel. Since then, the demand and usage of CNG vehicles have gone up thereby increasing the overall environmental health of the region. Moreover, it also facilitates in lowering pollution. Since individuals are turning to alternative mode of transport, demand for private cars are also taking a hit. Lesser the number on road, more is the improvement in air quality index and less is the average noise decibles, this can be also attributed to the idea that because of this move traffic congestion has gone down. For instance, Rawanda's road transport contributes to 13% of the country's total greenhouse emissions. In the wake of this scenario, their government has set a target of electrification of 30% of public transport by 2030. In conclusion, I agree that increasing the prices of combustion oils will lower the demand for it and increase the adoption of eco-friendly transportation methods, followed by a decrease air and noise pollution.