In this technological personal information of all kinds is held on computer by different companies and organization in many countries. Do the advantages of this development out weigh the disadvantages?

In the technological world, it is common for government and private institutions to store data including personal data in computers instead of having it on physical files. This practice has benefits and drawbacks. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages. Saving personal data in storage devices helps to keep the data for a longer period of time. This is possible as the data in the computer will not fade over a period of time, unlike the ink on paper. Also, natural disasters such as flooding and forest fires cannot take away the data. Further, retrieving and analyzing data stored in computers is way easier compared with data stored on paper. Data stored in computers are analyzed and used to make decisions in businesses in a very short period of time. However, there are disadvantages associated with this as well. Personal information stored in computers is prone to cybercrime. Cybercriminals hack personal information and use it for illegal activities such as smuggling and stealing money from bank accounts. The other disadvantage is it heavily depends on technology. Therefore, internet failure or power cuts can make the data storing process difficult. For example, recently, an internet failure at Microsoft paralyzed airport systems around the world due to inaccessible information. In conclusion, though factors including cybercrime and uncertainty of the technology are threats to storing personal information in computers, strong safety measures can be applied while storing the data in computers. Therefore, I would argue that the pros of storing data on computers outweigh its cons.