Nowadays there are more and more competition for getting into the university. Is it a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, challanges for entering university are increasing day by day. Although it will provide students to try harder, it can damage them psychologically. To begin with there are positive sides to have competition. Competition for universities will increase quality of study. The reason is, among million candidates, only well knowledgeable ones will sort out. As candidates are many as harder the exam will be. It will provide the opportunity to sort out smart students. In addition students will visit extra courses. It will help them to be more educated than their peers. For instance every year in prestigious universities which has lots of candidates for one sit, there is special courses for students which will help them to enter university. On the other hand competition can be wrong. Because both studying and thinking about entering exam will take away lots of energy from students. They might lost balance between life and study via thinking about competition before entering. According to some researches year by year the percentage of people who suffer from depression due to exams for entering university among many candidates is increasing. Therefore competition among students will affect badly for those who could not enter. In conclusion, I believe that is not appropriate to have competitions to get into universities. Despite it will provide only knowledgeable candidates, it can destroy someone's nervous system.