Due to rise in university fees arts subjects like history and philosophy should not be taught anymore. Only degree courses should be taught for better employment opportunities. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, fees for campuses increase considerably. It makes many people argue that subjects such as history should not be taught anymore and universities only need to focus on essential courses which give better employment chances. Personally, I disagree with this idea because I believe that every subject has essential lessons to humans. - melestarikan budaya, identity of a nation, kalo ga ada, ga ada pembeda satu sama lain Firstly, history provides valuable information regarding with many types of conditions in the past and by learning these, people can avoid something wrong that already happened in the previous eras. For instance, many historical books illustrate about how a wealth country became poorer, and by learning the reason behind that, government and citizens have a chance to discourage themselves from the causes which people in the past did. If students are not taught about that, the same situation might happend happened again and again in the future. Secondly, history and philosophy consist of the culture of a nation. In historical classes, teachers or lecturers will explain the history of their country, how their elder people combated againts wars or simply the ways of people life in the past. These are part of national identity which should be remembered. Therefore, every history has their unique story which will become additional value in the future. For example, in Indonesia, there is Malin Kundang which a local story which is always told by local people. This story becomes an iconic of a region in Indonesia and becomes their identity. In conclusion, I argue with that idea because I believe that every subject has their essential knowledge which can give us vital lesson to continue our life in the future. Majors such as history provide valuable information regarding with how to build a better life by avoiding any wrongness that have happened in the past, therefore, these kinds of subjects contain our culture that has to be not forgotten.