In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Significant number of states in every part the globe have installed recording cameras in public areas to decrease the crime rate, however, some would argue this action is against human rights. While some authorities might abuse the video tapes to control and limit opposed activists, I believe that the videos can be used as convicting evidence in courts and trials and have a knock-on effect on lowering the number of criminals. Thus, the advantages overweight the disadvantages. In one hand, some would believe that a plethora of corrupted governments would abuse the footage to track down the political-opposed leaders and to avoid people to protest, if the have cameras in all over the town. Many dictator regimes take advantage of these tapes and arrest anyone who is against their ideology. As a result, citizens of these countries aren't able to protest for their rights and freedom because they will be recognized by using the videos and arrested. For example, many protestors got arrested in Iran's 2022 protests against government's corruption and economic inflimmation, who were found by police from the public camera's pictures. Despite this, in my opinion, dictators can use substitute methods and they are not dependent on these pictures. They can find protestors by their phone's gps and many other advanced spy applications and devices. On the other hand, by recording the criminals' face the police can use the videos as primary evidence against them. If the authorities obtain the evidence of the them breaking the law, the footage will be used in court to convict them and put them behind the bars for months or even for years. As a reult, less criminals would take the risk and tend to break the law as they can be easily found and arrested as the streets are being recorded 24 hours a day. For instance, the rate of crime is singificantly low in South Korea because they have CCTVs in every inch of their cities and it prevents pre-planned rubberies rubbery rubberizes or assults. In my view, video cameras defenitely are more beneficial rather than harmful, especially for women's safety and less men would harras and assult them in streets. In conclusion, although video-recording devices in public have drawbacks and can be used by authorities in harmful ways, the ability of having criminal's videos doing the crime and evidence against them is defenitley more advantageous.