Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

International reports become popular among news companies, making them invest much money on it. However, some people argue that the local reports should be more highlighted, as it should be more relevant to daily lives. In my opinion, I agree with the first opinion that the international news must be spread, as it can be a new learning source and it can also increase the social awareness between international people. In my country which is Indonesia, events from other countries are also reported. Local residents seem interested about it, especially the events from developed nations, such the US and the UK. Those reports are often used by the local residents as a comparison with their countries. For instance, the debate of president candidates. In the US, the candidates do not hesitant to mock the program of each other, while in my country is the otherwise. The audience of Indonesia's debate argue that the debate should like the US that is more exciting. Therefore, Indonesia can learn from the US that debate should more highlighted about the differences, and does not hesitant to attack enemies's programs. By knowing what happen in other nations, people should more aware about the other existence. I think this is important because they will discover how other countries live, what technologies they have, and how is the human welfare in there. It will make them have interest to try living in other nations, if the human welfare is better in there. For example, many local residents from Indonesia want to work abroad in Australia, as the salary average is better in there. Thus, international reports are very important, especially for them who want to live in other nations. In conclusion, covering international events is worthwhile, as many informations can be obtained. It can be a learning source for developing countries to become developed. Futhermore, it can increase the social awareness between international residents.