Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think that the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages ? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Museums always attract local and international visitors since it houses objects of historical, scientific and artistic interests and this increased attraction often encourages several museums to collect money at the entrance. Even though this practice has a few drawbacks, I believe that charging the entrance at these tourist attractions brings more positive aspects. To begin with, an argument infavour in favor of collecting entrance fee is that it can be very helpful to manage the operational cost of museums. In other words, these places are operated all the year round and thus the cost of managing these places could be extremely high. So the ticket fee that these places collect from museum lovers can be utilized for its utility bills or maintenance expenses. A good example of this can be seen in South Indian museums where they manage the day to day expenses only with the ticket fee as there are no state funds for these places. The other major benefit is that this ticket fee indirectly helps to control the crowd. To be more precise, If the entrance is free, the amount of arrivals, including fake visitors, would be high. So, paying a fee for entrance would deter these unwanted visitors to go here. In spite of the above positive features, charging admission will also bring some drawbacks. A common criticism of ticket fee is that museums are no longer affordable for people who belong to lower class. This is really unfair since they are deprived of their interests. Furthermore, it is highly possible that overseas travelers tend to keep away from these attractions because paying money to learn about another country may be unacceptable to them. Museum authorities in my country has already started to point the ticket fee as the main factor for the low number of international visitors. In conclusion, although charging the entrance may cause a few negative consequences like decreased number of visitors, museums receive enormous benefits such as fund for maintenance and avoiding unnecessary crowd. Therefore, this should be practiced but the charges should be reasonable.