Some people argue that to learn a language properly, a person needs to learn about the country, culture and lifestyle of the people who speak that language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that to learn a language properly, a person needs to learn about the country, culture and lifestyle of the people who speak that language. I completely agree with this statement because learning a foreign language is not easy, and if a person learns a language by observing the culture, customs, tradition and lifestyle of that country, the learning will be easier, long-lasting and effective. The traditional way of learning a foreign language is a time-consuming and challenging process. It requires at least three to four months of hardwork to learn a foreign language. In a traditional foreign language learning class, grammar and vocabulary are tought thought tough, however, it does not teach how to communicate in that language properly. For example, Chinese language cannot be easily learned by only memorizing vocabulary and grammar rules. However, if a language can be learned by observing the tradition, customs and lifestyle of the people of that linguistic background, the learner will not only learn that language but also know how to communicate in it. This learning will be effective and long-lasting because the learner will have a good command in it. Moreover, through this learning process, a person can learn the culture and tradition of that foreign country. If he requires to move to that country in future, he can easily adapt with that new environment and culture. For example, people who learn a language by following one culture, he can easily adapt with the new environment when he migrates to that new country. In conclusion, learning a foreign language can be effective and long-lasting when it is learned by following that culture and lifestyle. The traditional way of learning is not always effective.