Some people believe that the only important thing in life is his or her work. Without a successful career, life is meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, people have different views about occupation roles in life. While there are some good arguments in favour of the view that jobs play the most vital role in human lives, and without them life is considered to be meaningless, I personally disagree with this notion. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why people believe work is the most important thing to people. The first reason is that the world has developed significantly and money plays a vital role in humanity, becoming a currency in order to trade goods in modern life. Thus the only way to earn money is to get a job, which helps the individuals to become independent. Secondly, a job serve as a means for individuals to foster their competitive minds, considered to be important to people's personalities. For instance, in the past, there always been ranks in organizations to help employees grinding to their dream income. On the other hand, apart from the expressed above, I maintain that not having a successful career individual life still can be valuable. Firstly, life can be enjoyed in several different ways. With or without money, people still can choose the lifestyle that they want and this allows them to be happy in their own ways, not be burdened by the financial problems. Secondly, trying to get a successful career often makes people become stressful, which might be detrimental to their social life. For instance, many rich people believe that they have lost all their best friends due to their wealth, all they get nowadays are considered to be friends with benefits. In conclusion, while there are certain reasons why people believe occupation plays the most important role in human life, it seems to me that people still can enjoy their life even though they are unemployed or have a successful career.