As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Due to growth of numbers in tourism, the need for flights has increased. This essay will discuss the problems associated with growth of flight due to more leisure travel and will provide some solutions to those problems. The main two problems are higher carbon and other toxins emission and health problems in people living near the airports. Firstly, more flights creates a larger carbon footprint, which causes global warming, increases the growth of greenhouse gases emission. For example, in the last 30 years the demand for flights quadrupled and following that carbon emissions doubled, causing climate warming, which causes a risk on animal species, makes icebergs to melt and is a risk to whole earth ecosystems. Secondly, other toxins that are released during take off and landing are a risk to local people's health. For instance, people who live near airports are twice as likely to have respiratory problems compared to people who live further away. As a result living near an airport causes serious health problems and funds that could have been saved otherwise have to go into helping those people. To mitigate carbon emissions, the most effective measure is lowering the amount of travellers, that can be done with a legislation that bans short flights when the distance is easily accessible in zero or lower emission transport. For example, in France there is a ban on domestic flights if they can be made by train in under 5 hours. Solution to lowering health problems in people living near the airport is building airports further away from people ’s houses. When the distance is bigger it is scientifically proven that there are less health problems associated with aviation pollution. As a result, banning shorter flights and building airports further away from cities will make flying a less desirable option and will result in less flight and less pollution that affect global ecosystems and people. In conclusion, a higher number of tourism flights causes toxic gas emissions and risks local health. To solve these problems, the government should implement some compulsory legislation that lowers flight numbers and protects people ’s health. In my opinion the air tourism number has to decrease and the government should be heavily involved.