In some countries of the world, cars are replacing bicycles. However, in some countries, bicycles are replacing cars. What are the reasons for these two developments? In your opinion, which one is better?

Nowadays, in some nations a number of people are shifting toward use of cars to commute, whereas, in a few countries a bigger section of the community prefer cycles. In my opinion, latter is a positive development and it must be promoted and the reasons to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who advocate the former trend assert that use of cars saves travelling time. In fact, this mode enables an individual to cover large distance in a short period of time. To illustrate, with the construction of new highways cars can cruse at a speed of 100 kilometers per hour easily. However, I do not agree with this notion completely because public transport such as high speed trains can be used to cover large distances. On the other hand, people are shifting their interests towards bicycles because of Environmental concerns. As a matter of fact, rising awareness of climate changes is driving commuters to use cycles to reduce carbon footprints. To illustrate, according to a survey, about 33 per cent of pollution is caused by vehicular emissions. Therefore, people are opting more environment friendly options like cycles instead of cars. In addition, cycling offers Health benefits and promotes an active lifestyle. Furthermore, bicycles are seen as solution to solve traffic jams and congestions in cities. Hence, commuters are preferring cycles over cars. To sum up, cars can cover large distances in short span but issues related to climate changes, health and traffic jams are forcing people to use sustainable options like cycles.