In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing high speed railway lines for inter-city travel. Others believe this money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries, there is a current debate about the best use of public money for transportation. Some people think that building high speed train lines between cities is important, while others believe that the money should be used to improve an existing public transport system. Both opinions have good reason, and this essay will look at each view. On one hand, those who support high speed railways, believe they are important for the future. High speed trains can make travel between cities much faster, which would makr it easier and quicker for people to get their destination. This not only makes things more convenient for travellers but can also help the economy by encouraging the business trips and the tourism. Additionally, these trains are better for the environment than cars and planes, helping to cut down on pollution. For example, countries like Japan and France, which have spent a lot on high-speed rail, have seen good results in transportation and lower pollution levels. On the other hand, many people think the current public transport system really needs to be improved. In most cities, buses, trams, and local trains are old, crowded and not reliable. Making these services better would directly help more people every day,. Especially in cities where millions of people depend on public transport to get to work, school, or do other important things. By investing in better buses and trains, cities can reduce traffic and improve air quality. Also, upgrading public transport would take less time and money compared to building new train lines. In conclusion, while high speed railways have clear advantages for travel between cities and lowering pollution, improving current public transport systems could help more people quickly. In my opinion, spend money on public transport is more comfortable and affordable solution that would help more people in the short time.