Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or oragnisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Currently, people prefer to own their own business rather than working for someone else. It is argued that being our own boss can be beneficial. However, there are a few disadvantages. This essay aims to explain both views. There are a number of benefits of being self-employed, managing your schedule, not having a boss, and having power in decision-making. The main one is the flexibility; being able to adapt work responsibilities with personal life can influence a lot in the decision of having a business. Such as having time to spend with family and friends. Furthermore, not having a boss can increase your creativity and power to make decisions. For example, my friend works as a free lancer, and she has the change to work remotely everywhere. On the other hand, the number one disadvantage is not having any financial security. Which means there is no health insurance or sick leave days. Moreover, there are nonpaid holidays. The person who wants to be self-employed must have good management skills in order to save some money in case of need. To illustrate, an Uber driver has a lot of flexibility in his daily work life. However, he does not know how much money can be made in one day. Consequently, the driver needs to be very aware of his earnings and how to save per day or week to avoid future problems. To sum up, a self-employed job is not a role for everyone. The person needs to have the right personality and abilities to do it. Otherwise, it can result in some financial problems. A lot of discipline and management skills are required. Although someone who has these skills can navigate in the self-employment job with more facility.