some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is argued that children dedicate their time to smartphones every day. This essay will first discuss that this situation has arisen because of the entertaining apps which are included the smartphones and then, it will explain how smartphones harm their health as a negative development. Young people spend most of their time on smartphones on account of the various attractive applications such as TikTok and YouTube because these kinds of applications always keep itself up-to-date and show children interesting contents which are based on their keens. Thus, kids become addicted to smartphones to be able to access the apps. The Pew Research Center’s study on children ’s screen times that can be seen on mobile phones revealed that 60% of young population spent at least three hours on watching short videos called “reels” on TikTok in the USA in 2023, and they did not want to quit because they could always find contents which about their desires owing to the algorithm of the platform. This undesirable development affects children negatively because children get used to sedentary lifestyle as long as they addicted to their phones. This situation leads to several health problems such as obesity. World Health Organisation found that%75 of the obese children adopted sedentary lifestyle because they do not want to do exercise or go outside instead of hang Change the form of the verb hanging show examples out with their phone. To conclude, children tend to devote most of their time on smartphones in order to enjoy themselves by various apps which have various contents and this development has a negative effect on their health such as causing obesity.