Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative. effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

People nowadays prefer eating junk food despite knowing its consequences on health. Some people believe that it is important to impose a tax on unhealthy food items whereas other says that it is not necessary to force a fat tax. In my opinion, a tax on unhealthy food should be imposed as people now are becoming unhealthy and obese due to the consumption of more junk food. Recently, one news channel did a poll and asked regrading food, people love to eat and junk food was clearly a winner as 90% preferred it. The consequences that we see from eating outside food is alarming. Compared to the last decade, the life span of individuals has dropped drastically. Moreover, young people are more obese now and we can see they are less healthier than old generation people. It is because of the type of food they are consuming. Young people working in offices prefer to eat junk food items rather than fruits even if a fruit shop is also there. So, It is a better option to apply tax on these food items to reduce consumption of these food items. To illustrate, the purchase of various soft drinks in India reduced significantly after tax was imposed on them. On the contrary, it can be unfair to enforce taxes on some sections of society. Fast food is considerably more affordable as compared to healthy food. So, imposing a tax will make it costlier and will be cruel for some individuals. Moreover, increased taxes will collapse the fast food industry. They play a vital role in the economic growth of the country and a sudden decline in the purchase of junk food items due to the imposition of taxes can lead to instability and various other issues. To conclude, even though, we know that implementing a tax will cause problems for some people as well as some industries but it is necessary to have a tax on various food items which are unhealthy as it causes us various health issues. Moreover, life span is reduced now. Various diseases like diabetes, hypertension, and cholesterol are common especially in youth due to the consumption of fast food.