Nowadays, people research their family history, some people say this is useless and we should instead focus on present and future generation. Share your opinion. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A curiosity about one’s past is always been in people ’s genes. While family history can tell useful information about the medical conditions or habitual effects, current and future circumstances are more important than the past, because the current situation is different from the past to be based on. While I understand that presents are more important because historical gene issues can be prevented and cured by regular check-ups by modern technologies, the history of the family tells necessary information about the critical conditions or specific behaviours that people may not be aware of. So, people can make adjustments in their behavioural acts in this present phenomenon which could affect the future. To know about the past comes from genetic curiosity. Even children get curious about their ancestors. From the past history of one’s family, one can acknowledge the family tradition as well as other important medical conditions. For example, Angelina Jolie found out about breast cancer that caused her grandmother to die, so she frequently checked her health to prevent potential cancer. If people did not know about the family history, they may not be able to prevent the historical diseases. Therefore, knowing about the family history is necessary because anyone can prevent potential diseases which were occurred within the family. In contrast, many people would not care about family history, because current and future circumstances are more important than the past. Since society has changed into the information age, people can gather all the information with just a click. This is different from the ancestor’s generation, because new diseases are created or new issues are occurred every day. For instance, MERS, ZIKA and SARS are new diseases that had not occurred in the past history but in this 21st century and cures and symptoms were more important than knowing family histories. As a result of this, people are concentrating more on the current situation than the past. Even though I understand the current situations are important because this can affect the lifestyles in the future, knowing about the past seems also vital. From the medical conditions, habitual cycles and the specific characteristics can be stuck with DNAs. Once people are aware of the information, they can make amendments when they make a decision in life. For instance, Bill Gates’ family suffered from poor for a long period which was due to laziness, so he decided to become rich by not being lazy and always trying to work every minute. If he had been unaware of his family history and family characteristics, he would never have been able to realise his potential which was hidden inside his DNAs. Thus, I believe that knowing of family history is necessary in order to acknowledge one’s full information. In conclusion, currently, we are facing different issues which have not been dealt with in the past. Thus, knowing about the current and future seems important. However, acknowledging the past is more important because one’s family history contains the full information about one’s self without taking a time to analyse every aspect. This information can be useful to make a decision or to live a lifestyle because people can change their behaviours by acknowledging the information which can affect the foreseeable circumstances.