In many professional sports, there is an increasing number of athletes who use banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Using banned substances is a growing trend among athletes to enhance their performance. This essay will discuss how pressure of public is the main cause of this problem, and how harsher penalties could be the possible solution. The main cause of this problem is social pressure. Thus, the public demands a medal from a sportsman and if he does not bring the trophy to his homeland he will be under fire of blaming from people. The fear of being shamed if he loses pushes the sportsperson to use prohibited substances. For example, survey made by Hungarian University showed that 78% of surveyed champions are scared of being blamed by community in case if they fail to win. The solution to this problem is inserting stricter measures in punishing those who use drugs to improve their physical state. Increasing the fines for using banned substances will make them think twice before cheating. For instance, the research made by journalists showcases that the usage of drugs by athletes decreased for almost 34% when the fines got higher. In conclusion, the increase in the use of banned substances in professional sports can be attributed to the intense pressure to succeed and the solution could be enforcing harsh penalties on the cheating competitors. However, through harsher penalties, it is possible to curb this phenomenon and ensure that sports remain a fair and level playing field for all athletes.