In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollutions in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Ban plastic bags is a controversial topic all over the world. I personally believe that banning the use plastic products is absolutely right for two very important reasons. Firstly, I believe that taking out plastic bags is right because it will reduce the pollution. Most people who care about the environment would agree that plastic has negative effects on marine life, which means that animals in marine life are dead because of the plastic products. It also impacts water sources, which would definitely impact human health. Consequently, plastic should be banned in the public interest. Another crucial reason why I think that plastic should be banned is the cost of cleanup the environment after consuming plastic. It is true that the cost of plastic is cheaper than any other alternatives, while it causes more pollution than others, which means that banning plastic would help countries reduce the cost of cleanup. This is highly beneficial for economics. However, there are those who say that banning plastic bags is wrong because it is easier for individuals to use it and it is less expensive than other alternatives. Yet, this is not justifiable because even if it cost less to buy it would cost more to help the environment. In conclusion, for the above reasons, it is clear that there are extremely strong reasons to support the view that it should be illegal to use plastic because it is clearly detrimental for both the environment and the economy.