Sugar consumption is too harmful. Some say it is government’s responsibility to limit sugar intake, while others say it’s individual who are responsible. Discuss both views and give you opinion?

The consumption of sugary foods and bevarages has drastically increased in those last few decades. Sugar intake upon a certain level is proven to be harmful for our health. For this reason, some people believe governments should ramp up their efforts to limit sugar intake in people diet, on the other hand others believe that it is a personal choice of each individual. I strongly agree with the second position because each citizens should be free to take its own choice in how he feed himself. On the one hand, those who agree with the idea of considering it a government’s responsability probably refers to the fact that in welfare state how each of us live his own life interfere with others. As an example of that, if sugar consumption is harshly harmful, then probably these people will need more medical care then other and this have an impact on how and if hospitals are able to give to that many people the cure they need. Furthermore, they believe in a paternalistic form of action of the governments where if citizens are not able to choose what is best for them, governments should assume the responsability to show them the right way. Despite it might sound a logical way of thinking, I disagree with these ideas because I believe that freedom in people ’s life choice is a supreme right. On the other hand, those who considers individuals as responsible of their life choices agree that after making common knowledge that a certain intake of sugar is harmful, and it is science’s role, each of us should be free of behaving in the exacly exactly opposite way. Moreover, tackling this problem limiting sugar intake as an obey will have an impact on economies because compagnie who sold this kind of products should completely reinvent themself and this will have huge and disastrous effect on western economies. To conclude, the health reason need for sure to be considered to face this problematic but, in my opinion, the right to choose is on an higher level and for this reason it needs to be protected more than the other.