Home-schooling is becoming increasingly popular as more and more parents are choosing to educate their children in this way. Why do you think parents might choose home-schooling rather than traditional schools? Do you think home-schooling is more beneficial?

Nowadays, more and more parents are choosing to educate their children through home-schooling due to different kinds of reasons. According to recent research conducted by the Hong Kong Government, about 25% of parents choose home-schooling for their children. Homeschooling is quite famous, not only in Hong Kong but also in the other countries. The major reason why parents choose home-schooling rather than traditional schools is the children of those parents have suffered from unhappy memories in their school which made the children feel sad and anxious. Some children may even suffer from emotional disorders such as depression and anxiety disorder because of the bad and disaster school life. Those children are reluctant and afraid to get into the school environment and school life again since they have bad experiences like facing bullying in the school. In order to protect the children from recalling the bad memories again, the parents will let the children to study at home and quit the school. Therefore, the parents will allow their kids to study at home instead of the traditional school. In my opinion, traditional schools are more beneficial than homeschooling. There are several reasons. The first reason is traditional school provides a channel for students to learn how to get along and communicate with the others. The traditional school provides valuable opportunities for students to learn the social skills which help the children to be a more mature person who knows how to social with others. Through different activities and group projects in the school, the children in the traditional school can know what are the skills of cooperating with their classmates so as to do well in their stuffs. As a matter of fact, in the grown-up process, students are not only required to learn the academic things but also the communication skills. It is more difficult for home-schooling children to develop their social skills and build up their friend zone as they have less chances to social with the people of similar ages. The second reason is traditional schools provide a fixed timetable to students to follow like the time of going to the school. There will be some punishment for students when they fail to follow the timetable provided in the school. This will help the students to become more disciplined as they will understand the responsibility of being punctual. When the children grow up as an adults, they still have to be punctual when they get to work. Therefore, the children can have the habit of being punctual since the traditional school has trained them for a long period of time. It is quite hard to have a model answer to determine whether homeschooling or traditional school is better as it depends on different people. It is good that to see different learning methods are becoming more and more famous as it implies people are becoming more open-minded in the world. For me, traditional schools are better. For you, you may think homeschooling has more upside to you.