The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology has seen impressive growth over the past few decades, which has in turn transformed our lives in numerous ways. The smartphones industry has been revolutionized in such a way that majority of the people now rely on mobile phones for both communication and for business purpose. However, the continuous use of these devices can cause social or medical issues such as depression and antisocial behaviours. While I acknowledge the health problems caused by the overuse of mobile phones, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, cell phone helps people to stay connected across the globe. In the past, people had to rely on letters and fax to exchange the information. Nowadays platforms like WhatsApp, telegram, Instagram, Facebook etc. have made communication significantly easier. As long as one has an internet connection, staying connected with others is seamless. The interaction can be both personal or business related. For example, smart phones allow access to office mails and applications like Microsoft teams enabling individuals to participate in office meetings and calls without the need to be physically present at a computer or in office. On the other hand, there is a growing concern about the impact of smart phones on mental health. It has been observed that an increasing number children and adults are seeking help for issues related to mental well-being. A study conducted by the University of California, found that the people who use their cell phones for more than three hours a day are more likely to exhibit antisocial behaviour and experience depression. To address these concerns, it is essential to educate the public about the potential side effects of excessive smartphones use and encourage children to engage in outdoor activities. In conclusion, while there are undeniable adverse effects associated with the overuse of mobile phone usage, these can be through awareness and education. On the other hand, mobile phones remain indispensable tools that offer significant benefits in both personal and professional contexts.