Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.  Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly known that developments in technology are not always good for us. Surely, surveillance cameras and cellphones make us feel more secure, however, with all this devices controlling us without consent can provoke some sense of discomfort, almost as someone broke into our own private space. Firstly, most of this methods of monitoring have plenty of pros. For example, footages recorded by security cameras have been helping out getting a lot of criminals lately. According to data, published by police departments, those recordings were used in court to recognise almost 90% of criminals who robbed a bank in the last 20 years! Likewise, thanks to phone-tracking features a lot of mafia groups' members were localized and arrested by local authorities. In contrast, this methods have cons, thus are always active, resulting in influencing also other citizens' life rather than only criminals'. In fact, this tracking devices often get along with softwares used to advertise in social media platforms and websites. For instance, in 2016 during american presidentials elections, facebook used user's personal data and websites cookies to make people vote for Trump instead of Clinton. As a result, this interfered in a state's democracy and it's really scary! In conclusion, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages at the moment. I think that computers still don't have compromised our freedom indeed. But, if this happens in the future, it will be a problem to solve immediately. This can be avoided by being more mindful in electronic devices usage and by voting people who uses them for our safety and not for their own good.