The detailed description about crime will affect the people and cause many social problems. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue over the fact that detailed description made by the media about crime are able to affect the people and be the root of many social problems. In particular, they point out, as a possible solution to that issue, to stricly control media. I partially agree with that statement because it is important to protect the privacy of the victims but it can also be important to let people know about certain details to inform citizens about the criminal’s habits. On the one hand, putting so much effort on narrating detailed description of crimes can have negative outcomes both for the relatives of the victim, that have to listen to that informations on every media and also for the privacy of the victim itself. As an example of that, there are plenty of podcast that narrates the story of famous crimes because the details become popular. On the other hand, the reason why I partially disagree with the statement is because in some cases, such as serial killers and recidive criminals, it can be important to make people aware about the situations. Indeed, to prevent crime commission, it can be very important to make some details widespread by media. It can prevent possible victims to actually become ones. Moreover, there can be witnesses that can help the police finding out those criminals. Indeed, many people could be helpful if they know that they were present on a crime scene and maybe remember some important details for the police investigations. To conclude, there are for sure reason to protect the privacy of the family and to ward others while for sure in certain situation making people aware of what is going on can have positive outcomes for the police investigations.