The government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to eat more healthily. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The fact that adapting healthy foods should be encouraged by governmental bodies by imposing taxes on unhealthier products is a matter of concern. Although there are some benefits of putting taxes, I believe some other measures ought to be taken to motivate people. Admittedly, taxing unhealthy foods leads to prefer healthier ones. The prime corresponding factor may be to invest same amount of money on hygienic items. In essence, market is flooded with cheap unhygienic foods, prioritising people to buy them but having more taxes can motivate them to purchase best healthy products. Take fruit as an example, apple is rich in fibre and nutrients so individuals may choose it despite buying processed foods. Besides, it will never affect affluent people, funds are generated by authorities by imposing taxes, leading to allocate them to provide better lifestyles to people in terms of giving some discounts on healthier things and constructing some healthcare buildings for their betterment. However, there are some other measures to encourage people to adopt better foods. Firstly, making people aware about the consumption of cuisines on daily basis. Simply put, a majority of public do not have valuable knowledge regarding their diets, organising awareness campaigns may help them to come across about health related concerns due to poor diet. As an illustration, university students have identified that obesity and respiratory problems are occurring because of their poor knowledge to consume diets. another would be to reduce the prices of healthy items. With the rise in inflation rates, prices are skyrocketing with each passing day, making some stringent rules to decrease the prices of healthier things may be convenient for people to buy those things. As a result, people may make a balance between their diets for their well-beings. To conclude, nevertheless imposing taxes on unhealthy foods may deter people to buy these things, I believe authorities should provide some valuable lessons to public and reduce the prices of healthier items, for the betterment of people.