Some people believe that children should be made disciplined by making them obey rules and do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Others, however, believe that those children who are controlled are not well-prepared to tackle the challenges life brings to them. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by many that young ones should be disciplined and made to follow orders given by their parents and teachers. While some are of the opinion that, controlling children and forcing them to obey orders are unprepared to face the challenges thrown at them in life. Although this essay will discuss both sides, but in my opinion, caretakers and guardians should balance strictness and leniency with their children, because being disciplined will teach them to value the precious time and leniency will teach them to be more independent and confident. To begin with, teaching obedience to children to a certain extent helps them in having a proper routine and structure in life, and both of these qualities are very important to succeed in life. To elaborate it further, for example, my older daughter is a swimmer and an athlete. She swims early in the morning and in the evening, one and two hours respectively. She wakes up at 5:30 am and sleeps at 8 pm, this routine has given her a very healthy lifestyle and keeps her active during school hours and keeps her busy and away from all the vices of the society that teens are involved in. Similarly, having the liberty to make own decisions is equally vital for mental growth of a child. To explain it further, allowing a child to take steps on their own rather than dictating will result in either failing or succeeding, and both will help them in their future lives to prosper. From failures they will learn their mistakes and success will give them the confidence they need to face challenges in life, therefore, it is very necessary for parents and teachers to be less controlling and the let the child navigate life on their own. In contrast, it is an opinion of many that children should be strictly controlled and obeys the orders as instructed by their guardians. This leads to only hampering their personalities and developing their minds. For example, a recent study in British Medical Journal shows that, suicide rate is very high amongst young individuals in South Korea and the main cause are the parents who are very strict and control every aspect of their children's lives. Hence, it proves that raising too obedient or disciplined individual leads to only mental depression and impede the development of a child's behaviour. To conclude, I reiterate, just like being well-trained and in-control is important, having the freedom to make mistakes and succeeding on their own is also a significant lesson in life teachers and parents should teach their children.