Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that developed nations should allow more intake of refugees and facilitate them with basic food and housing. I strongly diasgree with this idea because of the impact it brings to their economy and the dangers inflicted upon the citizens. Providing basic shelter and diet facilities would lead to a strain on the welcoming nation's economy. The financing of such programs is usually done using a chunk of the taxpayers' money who work really hard just to make their ends meet inturn leading to frustated citizens with heightened level of hatred against the refugees. For example, In Canada, many refugees seek asylum as it gives them food and shelter, but this has come at the cost of increased taxes in their own economy. Secondly, immigrants, specially the ones from underdevloped or developing nations, often have zero to minimal skill to survive in a developed nation and are forced to resort to illegal ways of finding a job, whether it is extorting money, selling drugs or any such criminal activities. This is a direct threat to the citizens residing there. Providing them shelter or food only encourages them to not work harder. For example, in the developed nations like USA and the UK, recently there was a spike reported in the number of immigrant crimes due to the increased influx and flexibility of such facilities. To conclude, rich nations should not allow more number of immigrants neither should they provide amenities like food and housing in order to protect their own citizens and grow their economy.