Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

In recent years, tourism has been growing at a fast pace. People believe that this can help contribute to the country's economy, but on the other hand some people believe that tourism is destroying their local culture and having a negative effect on the environment. Both of these arguments will be carefully examined in the following paragraphs. Firstly, tourism in big cities is bringing in ahuge amount of revenue every year. Most of this revenue is made by plane tickets and hotel reservations. There were many surveys made by individuals and by interviewing people on the street, and it was found that tourists who were staying in hotels were paying around $300 to $500 per night during their stay. But this is not all, local businesses are benefiting the most. Without international foreigners coming to their business to buy goods, they would not be able to make a good source of income every month and this can lead them to shut down. One of the other major advantages of tourism is that it can create many job opportunities for local people because businesses will be having more "business", they would need help from the locals and in consequence they will be forced to hire people. On the other hand, tourism can have many drawbacks. Environmental pollution is one of them. More dangerous gases and chemicals are released into the environment due to people travelling. Many types of research shows that air quality has decreased, mainly from car and aeroplanes' emissions. Moreover, these gases can pollute the soil and the water, and in consequence, lead to health problems for the locals. Additionally, some travellers are not aware of local laws and rules and many of them are more likely not to follow the law and pollute the environment. In conclusion, tourism can be a great way for a country to generate a source of income and improve the economy, it is important to mention that there are definitely more advantages than drawbacks. In my personal opinion, tourism is a great way for people to relax especially when they are travelling abroad and they get to learn and explore the local culture.