In some societies, more and more people are deciding to live alone. Why do you think this is? Do the advantages of living alone outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays is becoming more and more a sign of independence and maturity the decision to live alone, but everything comes with a prize. To begin with an example, it is a well-known stereotype that Italian men are immature and love their mothers only because they usually leave their parents' house at a higher age than Americans, but it is not the only way to see life. Living alone is linked to more freedom, independence and financially stability, so more this is achieved sooner and more the person is seen as successful and an adult, despite it is not always this simple. In my point of view, learning how to support oneself, and how to provide for expenses like rent, groceries and bills are not the heaviest burden of living by yourself. You will need to find ways to cope with loneliness, with the feeling, for instance, of coming back home after a difficult work day to an empty room, with no one waiting to give you a hug, or simply to listen to you complaining about your problems. In my opinion, the hardest obstacle to face is to be left alone with your thoughts, with your fears and your doubts, managing how to finally deal with them. On the other face of the medal, also living with somebody else is not easy, different minds and characters do not always find a perfect match in everyday life, and being responsible for your own choices could be a way to escape the path that somebody else decided for you. For instance, I just started living alone in Milan to attend university and it was a big change, the evironment from the countryside to the big city changes significantly. Being now in charge of everything, like cooking and doing chores, really makes me appreciate now everything my mother did for me in the prior years. In conclusion, the advantages of living alone do not outweigh the disadvantages, but this could be the best and more formative experience you could do to discover yourself and grow into an adult.