Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Big firms allot huge funds to market and promote their product to persuade the public to buy. Masses are influenced by advertisements, and purchase the item endorsed by their favorite movie star without doing their due diligence. As a consequence, individuals make impulsive purchases which are not suitable to their needs. Thus, in order to encourage consumers to shop mindfully, and locally, there should be a cap on marketing giants. First and foremost, the audience is captivated by the popularity of the products instead of genuine feedback. for instance, the infamous Clinic Plus shampoo was once a top tier in the market, considering the brand ambassador of the company's haircare line was James Charles (a famous beauty blogger and makeup artist with hands-on experience in the beauty industry). Therefore, the efficiency and reliability of the product were preassumed by the audience; however, during a recent inspection, cancer-causing components were found in the sachet. A possible solution to this is convincing people to shop for local substitutes to support small businesses and make a purchase only after researching the formation and ingredients of an item. Further, a cap on multinational items should be imposed to foster local production to gain popularity and hence, benefit the small vendors and enjoy quality products at fair value. For example, in the beauty industry, a few renowned firms have gained a monopoly over 50% of the market owing to their marketing strategies, which undoubtedly exceed the quality of their production. to conclude, large-cap firms pay a lot to marketing agencies to advertise their product globally. the public makes purchasing decisions based on these ads and gets distracted from their needs. government should reduce the influence of media on a single brand.