Some people believe that stricter punishments can reduce crime rates. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate whether strict punishments should be implemented or not to lower the level of crime is ongoing. Many people think if the government introduces laws to punish criminals, this can in consequence lead people to fear the laws and they will not likely to commit crime. For instance, many countries such as Saudia Arabia and Palestine have very strict laws against drugs where people can even lose their fingers if they are found out of commiting these crimes. Many studies shows that countries in the Middle East have lower rates of crime because most people are afraid for their lives. This can contribute to a safer society where everyone respect each other and follow the rules. But this is not all, there are many other benefits. For instance, money that are being used to feed these criminals can be used in better ways, such as building infrastractures infrastructures, roads, hospitals and parks. On the other hand, some other individuals believe that having these rules will not do much because they think that crime is not something that can be eliminated and reduced easily. They believe that a person commiting commits a crime may have many different reasons, such as poverty is one of them. People commit crimes because they do not have enough to eat or provide for their families and this can force them to steal. Additionally, education plays an important role here. Some studies show that less educated people who dropped out of high school were more likely to commit dangerous crimes compared to people who went to college and finished their studies. In conclusion, I definetely think stricter laws should be implemented in every country, but every person should have the adequate financial support from the government and they should receieve the education they need.