Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles others think there are other better ways. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

Nowadays there are ongoing debates about reducing the speed limit of a vehicle as the most effective way of minimizing road traffic accidents while others felt there are other alternative measures to curb this problem. This essay will delve further into this issue. First and foremost, speeding is one of the major causes of car crash. To explain this, the momentum of car accident is driven by few factors and speed is one of it. A high velocity moving vehicle will cause more damage and injuries to the victim as compared to a slower vehicle. Hence, if speed limit is reduced, the negative effects of car accidents can be minimized. Moving on to the next point, apart from the measure mentioned above, other alternative steps to improve road safety is by educating the drivers. It is a well-known fact that knowledge can improve behaviour and attitude of a person. Consequently, the society will be more law abiding and aware about road safety. Lastly a stricter law enforcement will also help to improve drivers’ compliance to the rules. With regular patrolling and speeding tickets, the society will be more cautious and responsible. By and large, while reducing speed limit is one of the effective ways to enhance road safety, other measures such as road traffic education and stricter law enforcement are indispensable measures as well. In my opinion combinations of two or more ways will be better.