Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make legal requirements. To what extent do you think laws are needed ti make people recycle more of their waste?

At present, few individuals argue that a sufficient amount of waste is not recycled and the government should bring up laws to this problem. Personally, I think the government cannot fully involve in this process as there are further methods and they will be outlined. Firstly, if government implemented strict rules towards poor recycling, people will be more concerned on their regular usage of materials. For example, the United States have introduced a new tax for the amount of garbage released. Therefore, people re-use the items such as bags and plastic bottles, and they collect the rubbish based on its materials (plastic, glass, paper). Moreover, the housewives collect kitchen waste and use as compost/fertilizers to plant. So the United States is the perfect mimic to other countries and proved how far government laws could change people. On the other hand, a proper education of the consequent results of improper waste disposal is also equally important. If an increased number of social programs are introduced explaining possible outcomes like global warming, climate change, imbalance of ecosystem and other environmental issues are informed, people will undersatand the reality and foster recycling. Furthermore, introducing discounts, cash prizes, and gifts for people who minimize waste production. For instance, Australia reduced the yearly tax and offered family trips to Sri Lanka. This method of promotion encourages individuals to follow a proper waste control scheme. In conclusion, even though government laws make make people recycle and re-use the items, however, offering information to people of the consequences of improper garbage disposal and rewards will definitely help to overcome this situation.