Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduces the ammount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, technology has been widely influenced our daily life interaction through email or any other online platform. Many people said that this innovation has a negative impact to our face-to-face interaction. In addition, this essay agrees with the notion because this will strongly affect human relationships and lead to various mental health problems. Firstly, one of the main merits that online communication has is the massive changes in terms of how convenient it is. This have changed us in a way that we could not go back to the traditional of messaging, such as sending a letter or owning some kind of bird as a helper to sending the news to other people. But, this actually leads to the lost of connection between a human and another. For example, many families celebrating holidays like christmas or new year's eve through video call because they do not want to give effort to meet their own family. In addition, long-distance interactions, sooner or later, will cause a lot of mental problems especially for teenagers that have not develop the ability to manage different kinds of emotion. The time people spent messaging through WhatsApp or Line have affected their mental health because it creates the feeling of loneliness and isolation and may also leads to deppresion and anxiety. For instance, the BBC channel has said that the reason behind the majority of mental health problems in teenagers were because of hate speech and cyberbullying in the media, which then made them question their self-worth. In conclusion, the innovation of face-to-face interaction does has positive impact, such as shortening the amount of time that is usually required in messaging people. However, this could actually leads to wide range of issues like affecting the quality of human interaction and mental health problems.