Some people say that humanitarian subjects such as philosophy, history and literature that people study in universities have no value for their future career. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

It is proposed to a few individuals that studying humanitarian subjects in universities are waste of time as it does not help them build their careers. I fully disagree with this notion due to the following reasons. To begin with, the first and foremost reason in this context is that students learn about their culture and values from history and literature. Studying history allows them to understand the past and learn from the mistakes of previous generations. It helps them to understand the change which is an inherent quality of humans. On the other side, literary works written by people of various cultures and viewpoints broaden their understanding of other people and our overall worldview. Moreover, it develops transferable skills that are highly sought by a wide range of employers. Furthermore, philosophy plays an important role as a problem solver for people who struggle with different problems in their lives. It enhances a person's problem-solving capacities. It helps them to analyze concepts, definitions, arguments and problems. Studying philosophy improves the organizational skills of individuals. The perfect example of this is that philosophy students are, from the beginning of their course, encouraged to work independently and to explore problems on their own initiative. In the gist of the above contents, it can be concluded that studying humanities, literature and history are the core aspects of human life. It develops knowledge of their past, critical thinking skills and personal growth of the students. With the help of these subjects, they can prepare for their future careers.