Some people think that some type of criminals should not go to prison, instead they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, there are many types of criminals, such as robbery violence, etc. And in the opinion of some persons, the prisoners with easy ones, it is necessary to go to free work without paying and convince them to be through the community. I prefer to agree with this statement for some reasons. For example, instead of wasting time, they must help their country and spend their time on something useful. The second is that the local government must pay for all outcomes, and this money comes from taxpayers. On the one hand, this is the first reason. Why do normal people in the safe have to pay the taxes, and part of these will go to prison and other needs of convicts? I would never choose to give my earnings to others who cannot give the helpings in their own area. For instance, if they are at work and bring pluses, the government's coffers will go to education or the salary of freedom humans. On the other hand, there is the last reason. What they can do in the cage despite wasting time or, in the best way, reading books? If they will do the same things as normal workers from firms, they can serve their country, and if they can choose what job they will do, they can spend time with interest. If they can work with the similar timeline like others in freedom it will be plus for themself. In conclusion, I would say that there are many causes why prisoners with less difficult punishment have to go to work in prison.