• Some students found some subjects such as mathematics, philosophy are difficult, so these subjects should be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s career-focused world, some people prefer not to study such subjects as mathematics and philosophy and assume that they should be optional. I strongly believe that studying basic disciplines should be mandatory. Below I present my arguments on the example of philosophy. Firstly, the studying philosophical approaches shapes the worldview and thinking of students as future specialists and researchers. Increasingly, most sciences, even social ones, have research components that demand an acquaintance with philosophical theories. For example, the course “Science foundations” helped me critically evaluate and refine the research questions in my thesis. Also, philosophy develops reflection skills. Reflection is a key skill for any professional. Through this skill, students can reflect on their work and identify areas for improvement. Thirdly, effective learning requires a systems-based approach. It allows students to view a problem from different points of view. For example, in psychology, personality theories have been studied within all disciplines. Such an approach gives a full understanding of the topic and forms critical thinking. However, even with strong arguments for including philosophy, how it is taught significantly influences students ’ engagement. Currently, I am teaching the methodological basis of psychology. I am trying to explain the philosophical approaches in a practical way. I am sure this can change the opinion of students. In conclusion, I think that basic disciplines should be compulsory for most professions, especially research-based ones. They develop the critical thinking of the students as professionals and broaden their worldview. Even if a student does not plan to pursue a research degree, the basic knowledge of foundational subjects is necessary for general intelligence.