Organising a large family celebration such as a wedding can often create problems. What can be the problems associated with organising a large family event and what solutions can you suggest?

Organising a large family event, such as wedding, may develop some issues. A problem that may arrise is an overcrowded situation. By creating a more private event, the issue may be solved. The overcapacity of guests in a family event is such a major problem for those in charge as the organizer. Too many participants often leads to chaos and lack of food. For instance, in Indonesia it is very usual to meet very crowded weddings where far relatives, colleagues and the parent’s friends are also invited. One of the most extreme example is Batak weddings, where a typical one may have up to a hundred guests. With this large number of people attending the wedding, it is not rare to see that at the end of the day, disorder and mess are found. Because it has been an issue for so long, people nowadays prefer to initiate an intimate event where only the closest to the family are invited, therefore creating intimacy and order in the venue itself. A lot of millenials have done it by inviting only their folks and close relatives to the occasion. This modern approach is not only saving cost, but also creating a comfortable atmosphere for those attending. Most guests are familiar with one another, so casual conversations are much easier to create. As a conclusion, an overcrowded situation may be faced when running a family celebration. However, by creating an intimate one, where few people are invited, a more ordered event may occur.