Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Ngoc Nhi

In the modernized era, the number of people who gap years between high school and college is increasing more and more. In my opinion, there are some advantages that people should stop studying, develop skills outside of school instead. To begin, stopping studying one or a few years before entering a university has enormous benefits. Choosing a gap year gives them more time to think about their favourite majors because most of youngsters feel vague about their choices. In the gap year period, people can explore their own wishes and experience the outside world before making an important decision. To be specific, they can participate the extracurricular activities, go to practice in businesses and earn money from part-time occupations. Therefore, young people will know their desired industries and the next years in college will be prepared more carefully. Moving on to the second advantage is pushing people out of their comfort zone. If taking a gap year gives you the time to rest, it also gives you plenty of time for challenges. Most young people worry about dealing with other brilliant people in a highly educated environment. In fact, Observing knowledge in an extreme environment will help them draw many valuable lessons. Therefore, They can escape from peer pressure and be more confident about their abilities. In conclusion, in my opinion, Taking a few years to go out of the safety zone has a lot of advantages for careful selection of majors and receiving the important lessons.