In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Increasingly, vegetarian diets are being commonly followed by people in some nations. Although such a development discourages animal cruelty, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because it reduces the protein supply to the body. Following a vegetarian diet, helps spread more awareness about animal cruelty in slaughterhouses, leading to its discouragement. Social media plays a key role in this case as many content creators and influencers prefer vegetarian dishes over other cuisines. This lowers the demand for non-vegetarian foods, which results in less production of animal meat. For example, a recent study on Southeast Asians by the University of Cambridge stated that more young non-vegetarians are shifting to a vegan diet because of the disturbing contents of the butcher shops they view on Twitter. However, I believe such a diet choice is not beneficial for people’s health in the long run. With increased adoption of the vegetarian diet, protein intake required by the body for muscle building is reduced. Therefore, existing muscles tend to get weaker because growth is being prevented by a low protein supply. Moreover, skeletal muscles required to hold the bones strongly weaken over time. This, if not checked, gives rise to orthopaedic ailments and leads to a decline in health. For instance, it is recommended by health experts to include lean protein, available from chicken meat, in meals to develop chest muscles, which protects the heart. Therefore, I’m of the opinion that ignoring lean protein sources and only eating a vegetarian diet has dire consequences on people’s health. In conclusion, although eating vegetarian foods helps increase awareness about animal cruelty, one must take into account that consuming only vegetarian dishes prevents one from getting essential proteins required by the human body to maintain its health. For these reasons, the negatives outweigh the positives.