One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So, some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often highlighted that a single long-distance flight consumes the same amount of fuel that a car might use over several years, while both cause comparable levels of pollution. This has led some to argue that we should discourage non-essential flights, instead of focusing on limiting car usage. While I agree that reducing non-essential flights can help address global pollution, I believe that a balanced approach is required, targeting both air travel and car usage, as both contribute significantly to environmental harm. There are valid reasons to discourage people from non - essential flights, especially the ones associated with tourism. Air travel contributes significantly to global pollution, which in turn causes rapid rise of global warming. According to Aviation IEA database, the number of CO2 emissions between 2022 and 2024 have doubled, reaching an all time high. Skyrocketing global warming, as a whole, has a very negative effect on people's health. For example: it causes confusion, increased cardiac output, elevated blood pressure and increased arrhythmias. As a result, in recent years, there is a major growth of deaths associated with pollution. Another reason to discourage people from non-essential flights is our environment loss due to the greenhouse effect. Growing air travel pollution has caused significant losses to our home: climate change is already affecting Europe in various forms, depending on the region. It can possibly lead to biodiversity loss, forest fires, decreasing crop fields and higher temperatures. As a result, there is a big rise of more severe storms,droughts and poverty. While air travel may have a bigger and higher environmental cost per journey, cars remain the most widely used mode of transportation globally, and their impact is substantial, especially in urban areas. One of the solutions would be to limit the use of cars per household and use transportation, which doesn't pollute our environment, to cover smaller distances, since a lot of households have more then one car, which substantially increases CO2 emissions and people need to get used to traveling with eco-friendly transportation. This could massively lower the pollution, causing a more eco-friendly environment. Another solution would be for people to use public transport instead of cars. Even though cars are our everyday transport, public transportation is really well developed in most of the European countries. There are a lot of alternatives such as busses, trolley buses, metros, etc. This would also massively lower the CO2 emissions in our environment In conclusion, while discouraging non-essential flights can play a significant role in reducing pollution, it is not a solution in isolation. A better approach that addresses both air travel and car use is needed to tackle challenges we face. By promoting alternatives to both modes of transport and encouraging more sustainable transportation across the board, we can make meaningful progress in reducing pollution and combating climate change.