In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

There is an increase in the usage of performance-enhancement drugs by professional athletes across various sports. This development has occured because of the drug's easy access and fatigue caused by playing more number of games. The possible solutions to this are less games and severe punishments. One of the causes is that these banned substances are easily available in the market for athletes to buy, even without prescriptions, thereby causing its usage to rise. Another cause of this scenario, is the increase in number of games or matches the sports professionals have to play. With the increase in number of games, the need to stay fit also increases, which results in sports people taking banned supplements. For example, Paul Pogba, a famous Manchester United footballer, confessed in an interview that the reason he used to take steroids before matches was to keep performing regularly at the highest level, othewise Manchester United would have sold him. One of the solutions to these problems is, obviously, fewer matches. If athletes do not have to play more than twice a week, then they can receive adequate rest and recover on their own, thereby reducing the need to take banned substances. Another solution is to make the punishment for doping very severe. If sports professionals understand that the usage of illegal drugs for boosting performance comes at a cost of a negative impact on their careers, it will discourage them from consuming these. For instance, FIFA had introduced a rule of banning footballers for atleast 7 years if caught in a doping test. This was followed by a significant decrease in the number of reports related to doping before football matches. In conclusion, the pressure to perform at the top level, and easy access to banned drugs causes athletes to consume them. However, this can be solved by reducing the number of games and increasing the severity of the punishmet punishments.