Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. It is often argued that severe castigations are the best way to decrease traffic collisions whilst others disagree and think that road safety could be improved thanks to distinct procedures. While using other methods would contribute to scale down some traffic disasters, I believe that harsh corrections are the key for road safety. On the one hand, there are many different systems which have successfully been helpful in terms of road safety gain. Indeed, a lot of procedures were established such as laws in which they were created by governments to reinforce their citizen’s security. A good example is reducing the speed limit on highways in several countries such as in France. This decree led to a better fluidity and distance between vehicles significantly cutting down pileups. This method is not a punishment not even close to be strict, but sill contributes to road safety. On the other hand, rigid sanctions are the forefront to road safety circulation. We, citizens, live in a society which is structured by rights but also by duties. Each one of us needs to drive cautiously and pay attention to the ones who surround us: this is one of our duties. From time to time, road infraction (often dangerous) caused by a driver needs to be heavily sanctioned because it is the main way to remind this individual of his duties and secure the roads. Moreover, he will remember his castigation and will not infract the law again. For instance, someone who was not respecting the code, got into an accident and injured badly an or several other human being, put not only himself in danger but also other humans. In conclusion, even though different ways could be a solution to driving offenses, the more effective act is strict punishment.