The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that crime levels tend to fall in the modern world, and advanced technologies play a crucial role in this process. In this essay, I will express my opinion on this statement. While both critics and advocates offer a host of reasonable arguments, I firmly believe that with enhanced technologies, people commit fewer offences. First and foremost, the proliferation of cameras on the streets leads to a decrease in robberies and fights. There is no denying the fact that some deviant individuals feel the pressure of surveillance when committing a crime. For example, in South Korea, especially in Seoul, cameras were introduced as a part of the police system to prevent violence against its citizens. According to the statistics, Seoul now is one of the safest cities in the world, and even women can walk the streets late at night without fear of becoming victims. Additionally, advanced telecommunication enables business transaction tracking to prevent money laundering. As many countries utilize regular external audits and oblige companies to submit their financial statements annually, it became much more complicated for thefts to transfer money illegally. Giving a specific example, there was a case in Russia, where Russian government authorities found more than 1 million dollars in a fake banking account, which was owned by a huge firm`s chief financial officer. The only thing Russian authorities needed to do was to inspect the suspicious transactions for the last financial years to examine the crime. In conclusion, I want to emphasize the fact that advanced computerization not only fosters the government control of companies' illegal activities but also protects communities with 24/7 surveillance systems. However, even though advanced technologies reduce the offence rate continuously, some proactive measures should also be provided to facilitate safety worldwide.