Buying things on the internet, such e-books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modernized world, purchasing goods such as e-books, air tickets and groceries online through the Internet is becoming a prominent trend. This trend brings both advantages and disadvantages towards the individual and the society and they will be explained. On the one hand, online purchasing offers a wide range of family goods and e-books which could be viewed within a few clicks. This saves money on fuel and reduces commuting time. As a result, people will save money and the traffic will be reduced so the environment will be less polluted. Moreover, expensive rare items can be imported which could be used to depict wealth and status. In addition, children can read the latest e-books just as they are released, where libraries lack. Also, these digital texts can be accessed at any time or place. For example, a student can read e-books while travelling without carrying a bunch of hard copies. On the other hand, returning to buying of risky things like air tickets would be more trustworthy if it was done physically. For instance, the internet contains several similar websites to the original that redirects to fraud sites, so spending huge amounts on plane tickets are more likely at a risk. Furthermore, e-businesses overtaking local shops causes losing people's careers and leads to bankruptcy. Nevertheless, most goods delivered are damaged or irrelevant and do not offer money-back guarantee, leading customers frustrated and dissatisfied. In conclusion, even though purchasing things online saves time, money and is more convenient however, the disadvantages like possibility of greater fraud, hindering of jobs and frequent damaged products outweigh the advantages.