Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

WRITING TASK 2 In recent times, there has been increasing public discourse on the nature of cooperation and competition. In professions, academics as well as day-to-day life, many individuals believe in the strength of competition, conversely, an increasing number argue for greater cooperation. Today, I will delve into both perspectives and give my own insights on the matter. Competition is natural in any field, whether it be academic, science, economics or the arts. Those that support competition argue that it incentivises greater innovation, as one person would attempt to outdo their peers. Subsequently, this would lead to higher standards and stricter regulations in that specific field, leading to increased quality of the end product. However, those that oppose competition cite its volatility, competitiveness in any profession is bound to create internal disagreements and quarrels that can be disastrous for the wellbeing of that profession. On the other hand, those that argue for cooperation state its benefits for the long-term. Cooperation would logically lead to greater innovation than competition, since all the minds are working together for a common goal, instead of against each other. Consequently, this would create a sense of belonging and unity for those working in that department. Moreover, cooperation increases greater empathy and compassion between members, and would urge people to help one another. Nevertheless, some have pointed out drawbacks to collaboration. The lack of rivalry and strife between members may lead to stagnation and lower standards. In conclusion, rivalry leads to higher merit but is liable to unpredictability, whereas collaboration leads to a sense of togetherness but is liable to stagnancy. Personally, I think rivalries are crucial in many different departments, especially in schools, businesses and academics. It is the main driver for most new discoveries or breakthroughs, and keeps those fields in top quality. While cooperation is admirable, it must not be the rule, for without rivalries and strife, there is only stagnation.