In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually empahise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is positive or negative development?

These days, many businesses advertise products that are marketed as brand new. This is due to the market being increasingly more competitive and this should be seen as a negative development because it can deceive customers in some way. This marketing strategy is used because many businesses are competing in a very competitive market for a specific product. A specific product that is competed in a saturated market sometimes lacks differentiating features that can differentiate one brand from the other. By advertising it as a brand-new product, a company can get the advantage of attracting many customers. For example, Apple is known for its marketing strategy to always produce brand new editions of iPhone almost every year to differentiate itself from the competitors. Nonetheless, the latest editions of the iPhone are actually only added with a small number of features and OS updates which are not necessarily new. This kind of advertising should be seen as a negative development because consumers can be easily manipulated by this way of advertising. Even though there are some minor additions and adjustments to the products, by advertising these kinds of improvements as a brand-new product, the customers can be tricked into thinking that the products are genuinely new. If customers realize that they are being tricked, they would respond by not purchasing any upgrades of the products which can lead to a decrease in sales. For instance, many people stop buying the latest versions of Airpods because a lot of them think that there is no substantial change in the upgrade. In conclusion, the advertising of products that emphasise their newness happens due to an increase in market competitiveness and I believe that this is a negative development because this advertising strategy can trick customers into buying the products.