More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In current society, it is becoming common for people to access to news about the world through the internet, instead of through newspapers or TV programs. I generally believe this is a positive trend. First, one positive aspect of internet news concerns immediacy. Since people can stay connected with the world, they are able to follow the latest trends. This means up-to-the-minute information can be accessed. Imagine a business man is on his way to a meeting. He can check the real-time variation of the stock market anytime with his phone. By the instant information, he can make better decisions during the negotiation. Neither newspaper nor TV can provide this level of instantaneous information for the rapidly changing financing industry. Moreover, online news is also convenient for the disabled and elderly person. Internet provide all sorts of access for people who cannot leave their homes due to physical restrain, enabling them to step outside of their usual routines. This results in safety and independence. For example, an elderly person depends on wheelchair to get around. He can simply open his mobile device to check the daily news at any time without bothering to go out and purchase a newspaper. However, it is also important to note the negative aspect of internet media. Information found on the internet often lacks rigorous editing and review processes, which diminished the credibility. Based on these unreliable. people may make poor decisions. Consider a school is planning for an upcoming sports event. The organizer schedules the event based on the weather forecast report on the newspaper. In contrast, the information found online may be less reliable. In conclusion, although newspaper and TV programs are superior in reliability, news on internet is still favored by more people since its immediacy and convenience.