Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What problems does this create? How could this situation be improved?

Nowadays, the sporadic development of large and modern supermarkets can be witnessed in many areas. As a result, numerous small and traditional shops are closing because they fail to compete with the giant supermarket chains in the particular area. This phenomenon will definitely lead to a problem, and needs to be addressed properly. The obvious problem that may arise due to the collapse of the small business is the economic instability of the particular country. We cannot deny the fact that as modern civilization moves toward a more fast-paced way of living, people tend to purchase goods from the modern market rather than the traditional one. For some people, it may seem insignificant, and considered as a minor problem. However, as we learn from the recent economic development, small shops as part of the SMEs (Small and Medium Enterprises) had a pivotal role in keeping the country economically stable. During the Covid-19 pandemic, when the lock-down policy was applied, many countries around the world collapsed. However, several countries were able to maintain their financial condition because they rely on the small and medium enterprises. Indonesia is one example of the surviving nation as the government pays more attention to the development of the local markets. Having said that, to tackle this problem is for the government to bring in a new policy that regulates the license of building the supermarkets in certain areas. If the government can maintain the existence of small local markets, it will boost the occupancy rates of the areas. Resulting in the decreasing number of the unemployed. Additionally, they should also keep on promoting the traditional markets as the icon of the area. For example, the government can encourage them to sell local iconic merchandise. To sum up, as the number of the small markets continue to drop due to their inability to survive the battle with the huge supermarkets, it might affect the stability of the country and many people will lose their jobs. Therefore, in my view, government involvement is crucial in enforcing the policy to maintain the small business.