In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A lot of millennials believe that printed form of media and books will be completely replaced by the digital world since nobody will buy that. I partially agree with the statement as books can be preserved for years while digital media can become inaccessible at any time. I will shed some light on both views and put forward my opinion on this matter. To begin with, due to advancement in technology and easy access people prefer to read in digital mode. According to the recent survey, college students are inclined towards online books as they come handy and can be accessed anytime. Therefore, sale of physical books has dropped dramatically, as readers believe they have more flexibility in organising content on the gadget rather than carrying books in hand. Moreover, an individual can carry numerous books in the gadget while on the go instead of choosing a one. Explaining further, another school of thought belongs to developing countries where illiteracy rate is high. There are several reasons that books can never be replaced in these areas. Firstly, masses are not comfortable with the digital devices. Secondly, people from deprived societies cannot afford digital gadgets but they can learn from the second hand books which can easily be circulated through various sources. Lastly and importantly, books can be retained for years however, data can become corrupt and lost at any given time. In conclusion, I would argue that, books can never be fully replaced by the technology as major population of the economically disadvantaged society relies on the physical books, due to lack of resources, even though technology has made content accessible to other part of the society.