In some city’s, there are few controls over the design and construction of new homes and office building so people can build whatever they like. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cities, the minimum controls regarding the construction and design of houses and buildings are giving the freedom for people to build as they desire. As much as it satifies us to be able to have our dream buildings to be constructed, I argue that it has the possibility of ruining the natural parts of the city which might causes a potential danger in the future. Having the ability to choose where and what to construct a new buildings in a city is beneficial for those who dream of owning accomodations accommodation in the middle of the town. They have full control of deciding where to construct the building, without thinking of the potential threat it may causes in the future. Cities nowadays are full of skyscrapers. There are little to no unoccupied land which makes it hard to construct a new building. If there is one, it is probably located near river that is still flowing in the midst of a busy city. If someone who has a full control of construction decides to build near this area, it will affect the environment there. For example, a construction project was made just next to a river in Medan. The mall and apartment complex was built with a poor construction planning which led to the river overflowing and flood the next couple months. As a consequence, the city center in Medan is now consistently drowned in water whenever it rains heavily. In conclusion, the freedom to construct and design everything as people desire brings a satisfaction to only some parties. With bad constuction planning and executions, it will put a vast majority of people in sufferings as the result of it.